Gilles Aillaud

30/05/2015 - 30/08/2015

This monographic exhibition is the first largest retrospective devoted to Gilles Aillaud since his premature death in 2005.

Three institutions from three different regions, the Musée des Beaux Arts de Rennes, the Musée Estrine and the FRAC Auvergne wished to be associated to help rediscover the paintings of this genius artist and therefore participated in helping him to have his rightful place in the history of art.

Thanks to the loans from large French and European Institutions, private collections from friends and family, this exhibition reunites more than 80 works of art stretching over 40 years, not only the paintings of Gilles Aillaud as he was also a designer, engraver, set designer, writer and poet.

The work of Gilles Aillaud can be divided into two parts. The first part portrayed animals in captivity, the second part, which came later, was devoted to the countryside and the animals roaming free. His caged animals seem to disappear into their environment, hidden by walls and cages or within the movement of water. The technical ability within these large paintings is fascinating.

In his later works - Greek and African countrysides - he had a tendancy to strip away the principles of watercolour, offering a diluted material, vaporous almost evanescent.

« When I paint, I only look to say something, going deeply into the way of painting to define more precisely, more insistantly the words'»
Gilles Aillaud

flyeraillaud

Gilles Aillaud

Exposition
30/05/2015 - 30/08/2015

Cette exposition monographique est la première grande rétrospective consacrée à Gilles Aillaud depuis sa mort prématurée en 2005.

Aujourd’hui trois institutions de trois régions différentes, le musée des Beaux-Arts de Rennes, le Musée Estrine de Saint-Rémy-de-Provence et le FRAC Auvergne ont souhaité s’associer afin de faire redécouvrir la peinture de cet artiste de génie et ainsi participer à lui redonner sa juste place dans l’histoire de l’art.

Grâce à des prêts de grandes institutions françaises et européennes, de collectionneurs d’amis et de la famille, cette exposition réunit plus de 80 œuvres, échelonnées sur quarante ans, traitant de peinture mais pas seulement, car Gilles Aillaud était aussi dessinateur, graveur, scénographe, écrivain et poète.

L’œuvre de Gilles Aillaud peut se diviser en deux grandes parties. Une première traite de l’animal en captivité, une seconde, plus tardive, s’intéresse au paysage et à l’animal en liberté dans le paysage. Ses animaux, enfermés, disparaissent dans leurs environnements, cachés par les murs et les barreaux de leurs cages ou les mouvements d’eau de leurs bassins. Souvent de très grandes dimensions, ses peintures fascinent par leur maîtrise technique.

Dans les œuvres plus tardives - Paysages grecs et africains - cette écriture aura tendance à se dépouiller reprenant à son compte les principes de l’aquarelle offrant alors une matière diluée, vaporeuse presque évanescente.

« Lorsque je peins, je cherche seulement à dire quelque chose, en ne songeant à la manière de peindre que pour rendre plus précise, plus claire, plus insistante, la parole. »
Gilles Aillaud